Skip to content

Cold Brewed Coffee

June 12, 2011

My husband and I are not much of coffee drinkers but we have been starting to drink more lately. Maybe do to the fact we both work full-time and care for a 2-year-old that does not have an off button or even a slow down switch. I stumbled across this recipe for a cold-brewed coffee concentrate on One Hundred Eggs .

I wanted to try it out first so I went on a search for a little pack of coffee. (I do not own a coffee maker or coffee in the house but we use K cups at work.) I finally found a small package at Target of flavored mild coffee.  So as I type it is brewing in my fridge so I can test it out. You can check of her large scale version above or try my small version here.

Cold Brewed Coffee Concentrate

Small batch

1 package – 1.75 oz ground coffee

1 1/4 cup cold water

1. In a glass bowl, combine the coffee, water, and mix until all the grounds are wet.  Cover the bowl, and let stand in fridge overnight , or about 12 hours.

2. Once done, strain the coffee through a fine mesh strainer into another  non-reactive bowl.  Let the grounds drip until you get tired of waiting, than discard.  Rinse the strainer, and line with a triple layer of cheesecloth or coffee liner, and re-strain the concentrate.  Strain as many times as you have patience for

3. Funnel the concentrate into non-reactive container of choice, and refrigerate.

4. Use a tablespoon of concentrate for coffee, and top off with water or milk.  Adjust to taste.

Coming in next day or two …..the results of my trial….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 7:47 PM

    hmm…this sounds good. I’ve never been much of a coffee drinker either, until lately…now I’m finding myself trying different things…has to be flavored with milk and sweetener tho…I’m not that much of a coffee person yet…who knows what the future brings, right?

  2. June 12, 2011 2:42 PM

    Neat! So glad you tried it!

Trackbacks

  1. Coffee, anyone? « Run4joy59's Blog

Leave a Reply

