Skip to content

Homemade Yogurt

March 3, 2011

I enjoy yogurt. I don’t like all the chemicals and artificial sweeteners they have in store-bought yogurt so I decided to make my own. It is very simple and if you enjoy it I recommend buying an inexpensive yogurt incubator to make it even simpler.

 How to make yogurt

I use a yogurt incubator I purchased. If you plan on making yogurt it is a great investment at @ 30-50 dollars. I have used mine quite often and I really enjoy fresh yogurt.

4 cups of milk, You can use any type of milk

1 (4-8oz) fresh yogurt, store-bought or your own

1. Take out yogurt starter and allow to come to room temperature.  

2. I recommend using metal utensils; Scald the milk, by heating until almost boiling (when small bubbles form around edges and steam rises) between 180-185 degrees. Stir frequently to prevent scorching.

 2. Cool the milk to @ 112. Keep a spoon in the milk to stir and keep an eye on it. A temperature between 120-90 is  needed.  I tend to like it on the higher end since it cools when you put the starter in. I place mine in the sink filled with 2-3 inches of cold water to speed cooling. 

3. Add starter yogurt, If making larger amounts add 1 small starter yogurt for each quart of milk.  Mix well. Pour into jars from incubator and place into incubator. Or keep yogurt warm during incubation at a temperature between 105-112. Keep yogurt still.

4.Yogurt will take from 4 -12 hours to become thick and pudding like. I usually incubate overnight for 8-10 hours. Test by touching top with clean fingers. The longer the incubation the more tart the flavor.

5. Refrigerate finished yogurt. It keeps for 1-2 weeks.

Stay tuned for a way to make greek yogurt!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

