Skip to content

Tofu Cheesecake Cupcakes

February 17, 2011

Hubby and I keep looking for sweet treats that we can enjoy without adding the extra pound or two. As we had a container of tofu sitting in the fridge, hubby asksed “Can we make anything sweet with that?” … I wondered, and remembered that I had a book that might just have the answer…

When my son started eating solids I bought the “Super Baby Foods” book. It had some fantastic ideas for feeding children but in addition it had a whole slew of recipes in the back for children of all ages. The author uses very little meat and most things are health conscious and many include TOFU!!

Remembering that, I rushed to the book and looked up the section in the recipes on tofu, A few things came up but the one that stood out was “Tofu Cheesecake”.  The recipe was simple enough, we only had to get two extra items. I tweaked it to lower the calories even more.

No crust is needed and only 5 ingredients were used.

Tofu cheesecake cupcakes

1 block (lb) of tofu, I used firm

6 oz of fruit juice concentrate (we used the recommended orange but can use any you like, mine   came in 12 oz container, so half)

2 packets plain gelatin

¼ cup flour (I used whole wheat)

1 tbsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Set up your muffin tin with liners. I used foil lined. Preheat oven to 350.

Put everything in the blender. Blend until smooth and creamy. 

Pour into lined muffin tins, 2/3 from the top.

Bake for 20-25 minutes depending on how full.  I did 20 minutes. It made 10 cupcakes. Let cool completely before eating.

They aren’t as creamy as cheesecake but they do have a good flavor and can be made to your tastes. They also freeze well.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

